Return to site

What Is a Series 7 License?

Edward Marsi

A frequent recipient of the Top Performer award for consistently exceeding quarterly targets, senior financial planning consultant Edward Marsi joined TD Ameritrade in 2012. Edward (Ed) Marsi is well versed in multiple investment strategies and holds Series 63 and Series 7 licenses.

Brokers and financial planners looking to expand their career opportunities can do so by obtaining a Series 7 license. This license enables these individuals to sell most securities products. Some roles, such as compliance officer, require a Series 7 in addition to other licenses.

Only candidates endorsed by a Financial Industry Regulatory Authority-affiliated firm are eligible to take the Series 7 exam. Starting in October 2018, an additional test, the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) exam, will be a mandatory prerequisite.
The Series 7 license is awarded to test takers who answer at least 180 of the exam's 250 questions correctly. Stockbrokers and financial advisors who pass the Series 7 exam often go on to obtain Series 63 and Series 24 licenses to qualify for managerial positions.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly